تقديم Paco - التميمة الرائعة PICOF.net

PICOF.net هو موقع تصوير دولي حيث يمكنك مشاركة الصور ومناقشتها ومقابلة أشخاص آخرين شغوفين بالتصوير ونشر وتلقي انتقادات قيمة والمشاركة في المسابقات الأسبوعية والشهرية.

بعد تحديث مهم للواجهة ، أرادت Liviu أن أقوم بإنشاء تعويذة تجذب انتباه الناس وتجعل إقامتهم على الموقع أكثر إمتاعًا. مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار ، بدأت في البحث عن أنواع التمائم التي كانت تستخدمها المواقع الأخرى. بعد قليل من البحث ، وجدت أن Twitter و GitHub و Duolingo و Firefox و Thunderbird و MailChimp وآخرين لديهم حيوانات تمثلهم. على الرغم من أن الإنترنت قد تحكمه القطط (وأنا أحبها حقًا) ، فقد اتفقنا على أن الكلب سيكون تجسيدًا أفضل للشغف والفضول اللذين يمتلكهما مجتمع المصورين في Picof. هذه هي الطريقة التي جاء بها باكو ، أفضل صديق للمصور.

بمجرد أن قررنا نوع الحيوان الذي يجب استخدامه ، أردت تصوير سلالة محلية لإضفاء مزيد من الأهمية والشخصية عليها. نظرت إلى الراعي الكاربات وكلب الراعي الموريتاني واستندت في رسوماتي إلى خصائصها. جربت أحجامًا وأوضاع مختلفة ، وجربت بعض الإصدارات الكرتونية ولكن من أجل الحصول على كلب لطيف ومحبوب ، قررت أن الإطار الكبير والمعطف الكامل سيعملان بشكل أفضل.

كراسة الرسم MockUp PSD

في الرسومات ، أردت أن يكون لديه القليل من النسيج عند حواف معطفه ، لكن عند الانتقال من الورق إلى الرقمي ، قمت بتبسيط الرسم ومنمقته بشكل أكبر وأصبحت التفاصيل الإضافية مشتتة لذلك تركته. كان هناك العديد من التكرارات الرقمية حيث قمت بالاتصال بعلاقات الشكل والنسب بحيث يبدو Paco كجرو نشيط ومتحمس. لقد استخدمت مخطط ألوان Picof لجعله أكثر واقعية ويتناسب تمامًا مع موقع الويب (حيث أن السلالات التي كان يعتمد عليها تحتوي أيضًا على معاطف رمادية).

منذ البداية ، كان جزء مهم جدًا من ظهوره هو تعبيراته. لم أستطع تفويت هذه الفرصة ، لذلك قمت بإنشاء أربع صور بدلاً من صورة واحدة ، كل منها يعرض Paco في موقع مختلف وشاركت في نشاط مختلف. لكي يكون أفضل صديق للمصور ، كان عليه أن يكون مجنونًا بالتصوير الفوتوغرافي ، حتى لو لم يكن بالضرورة محترفًا. لذلك رسمته وهو يلعب بالكاميرا لإظهار أن Picof يدور حول الرغبة في التحسين والاستمتاع بالعملية بأكملها على طول الطريق.

كاتيل 2 كاتيل 3 كاتيل 4

لقد ذكرت لـ Liviu أن Paco سيبدو رائعًا على دبوس وهذا من شأنه أن يمنح المستخدمين شيئًا يمكنهم التعرف على بعضهم البعض وقد أحب الفكرة كثيرًا لدرجة أنه فكر لفترة في منح الفائز في كل مسابقة دبوسًا رسميًا من Picof يضم واحدًا من مواقف Paco (في النهاية ، جعل العدد الكبير من المسابقات من الصعب شحن الدبابيس بشكل موثوق حتى لا يتمكن من خوضها).

أتمنى أن تكون قد استمتعت بمنشوري حول كيفية إنشاء التميمة لـ PICOF.net بقدر ما استمتعت برسم Paco. إذا وجدت ذلك مفيدًا وترغب في أن أتحدث عن العملية الكامنة وراء بعض مشاريعي الأخرى ، فاترك لي تعليقًا.

وداعا!

Introducing Paco – PICOF.net’s adorable mascot

PICOF.net is an international photography website where you can share and discuss photos, meet other people that are passionate about photography, post and receive valuable critiques and participate in weekly and monthly contests.

Following an important interface update, Liviu wanted me to create a mascot that would get people’s attention and make their stay on the website more enjoyable. With that in mind, I started looking at what kinds of mascots other sites were using. After a little searching, I found that Twitter, GitHub, Duolingo, Firefox, Thunderbird, MailChimp and others had animals that represented them. Although the Internet might be ruled by cats (and I do love them), we agreed that a dog would be a better embodiment of the passion and curiosity Picof’s community of photographers possesses. That’s how Paco, a photographer’s best friend, came to be.

Once we decided on the type of animal to use, I wanted to depict a local breed to give it a bit more relevance and personality. I looked at the Carpathian Shepherd and the Mioritic Sheepdog and based my sketches off their characteristics. I tried different sizes and postures, experimented with some cartoonish versions but in order to get a cute and loveable pooch, I decided that a big frame and a full coat would work better.

Sketchbook MockUp PSD

 

In the sketches I wanted him to have a bit of texture at the edges of his coat, but when transitioning from paper to digital I simplified and stylized the drawing further and the extra detail became distracting so I left it out. There were many digital reiterations where I dialed in the shape relations and proportions so that Paco would look like an energetic, enthusiastic pup. I used Picof’s color scheme to make him more lifelike and fit in perfectly with the website (as the breeds he was based on also have grey coats).

 

From the start, a very important part of his appearance were going to be his expressions. I couldn’t pass up the opportunity so I created four images instead of one, each showing Paco in a different position and engaged in a different activity. In order for him to be a photographer’s best friend, he had to be mad about photography, even if not necessarily a pro. So I drew him playing around with a camera in order to show that Picof is all about wanting to improve and enjoying the whole process along the way.

 

catel2catel3catel4

 

I mentioned to Liviu that Paco would look great on a pin and that would give users something they could recognize each other with and he liked the idea so much that for a while he thought of awarding the winner of each contest an official Picof pin featuring one of Paco’s postures (ultimately, the large number of contests made it difficult to reliably ship the pins so he couldn’t go through with it).

 

I hope you enjoyed my post on how I created the mascot for PICOF.net as much as I did drawing Paco. If you found it helpful and would like me to talk about the process behind some of my other projects just leave me a comment.

Bye!

 

Comments