设计音乐标签徽标

声音与视觉演示图像

嗨,Razvan在这里!

我参与了一个个人项目,当时我为艺术家创作了专辑封面,涵盖了各种流派的音乐,例如民间音乐,流行音乐/电子音乐和摇滚音乐,并且由于我希望自己的设计尽可能详细,因此需要使用音乐标签的徽标在CD和海报等促销材料上。这是我一段时间以来一直想做的事情,因此我变得非常挑剔,并花了一些时间来选择最终草案。

我首先尝试找到一个可以参考艺术方面的名称,而不再使用大型企业的名称。 “拉面的燃料”这个名字总是让我铭记在心,使艺术家们更贴近唱片公司。我试图思考视觉和音乐创造力之间是如何联系在一起的,并且可以相互交流。我决定将其名称基于“视觉和声音”一词,因为它具有旋律的寓意,但当我意识到音乐对于开发封面的样式和内容至关重要时,便改成了“ Sound&Sight ”,应该首先出现。

手绘的想法

我开始在纸上画出草图,并在名称和两种感觉之间的关系上使用各种视觉隐喻。在这个阶段,我更关心形式和空间,而不是精确的渲染,而且我已经知道我想要一些合成且低调的,几乎科学的东西:波形或抽象标记。我远离繁琐的纹理线条,因为我不希望徽标因为支持特定的音乐流派而显得格格不入。

数字草图

最终,我决定将两种感官的符号结合起来,创造出不同的版本,在其中我平衡视觉提示和简单性,寻找最有效和连贯的配对。尽管我通常不尝试使用过于接近文字的图像(例如Chip Kidd在本次TED演讲中所谈论的内容),但在这种情况下,我觉得图像足够机灵,足以引起观众的注意,并为影片带来了新的含义。名称。

在下面,您可以看到一些我用来测试最终结果的模型,以及徽标在较小细节的介质上以较小尺寸显示时的效果。


Sound&Sight徽标浮雕

音频设备上的Sound&Sight徽标

名片上的Sound&Sight徽标

专辑封面上的Sound&Sight徽标

这是其中一张专辑的封底,带有Sound&Sight Production Company的徽标。它传达出一种复古的感觉,非常适合我所想到的蓝调摇滚乐队,并且在保持其多功能性和现代感的同时,加入了简洁,内敛的徽标。

谢谢阅读!

Designing a music label logo

Sound&Sight presentation image


Hi, Razvan here!

I worked on a personal project were I created album covers for artists spanning various genres of music such as folk, pop/electronic, and rock and since I wanted my design to be as detailed as possible I needed a logo of a music label to use on promotional materials like CDs and posters. This was something that I had been wanting to do for a while so I ended up being quite picky and took my time in choosing the final draft.

I started by trying to find a name that would reference the artistic aspect and move away from big-business type names; Fueled By Ramen always stuck in my mind as a name that brings the artists closer to the label. I tried to think about how visual and musical creativity are connected and can inform each other. I decided to base the name on the phrase ‘sight and sound’ because of its melodic alliteration but that changed to ‘Sound&Sight‘ when I realized the music was pivotal in developing the style and content of the covers and that should come first.


Hand-drawn ideas


I started sketching things out on paper, playing around with various visual metaphors for the name and the relationship between the two senses. At this stage, I was more concerned with form and space than with accurate rendering and I already knew I wanted something synthetic and understated, almost scientific: wave forms or abstract marks. I stayed away from a heavily textured, grungy line because I didn’t want the logo to be pigeonholed as supporting a specific genre of music.


Digital sketches


Eventually I settled on the sketch that combined symbols of both senses and created different versions in which I balanced visual cues and simplicity, searching for the most effective and coherent pairing. Although I usually try not to use an image that illustrates the text too closely (like Chip Kidd talks about in this great TED Talk), in this case I felt that the image was witty enough to catch the viewer’s attention and brought new meaning to the name.


Below you can see a few mockups I used in order to test the final result and how the logo would fare at smaller sizes on less-detailed mediums.

Sound&Sight logo embossed

Sound&Sight logo over audio equipment

Sound&Sight logo on business cards


Sound&Sight logo on album cover


This is the back cover of one of the albums, featuring the logo for the Sound&Sight Production Company. It’s channeling a retro feel that goes well with the blues-rock band I had in mind and the clean, restrained logo fits in while maintaining its versatility and modern look.


Thanks for reading!